A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

GoodReads Summary:
Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow.
Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.
The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for – and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.
A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to Becky Chambers’ beloved debut novel The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect and Star Wars.
A Closed and Common Orbit (Wayfarers, #2)Review:
Who knew that I loved character-based stories so much? Becky Chambers did apparently. This is a story that has minimal plot, but I still found that I just couldn’t put it down. I read more than half of it in one sitting last night because I was so invested in these characters.

“It’s not comfortable realizing you’ve been wrong about something, but I suppose it’s a good thing to do from time to time.”

The world that Chambers has created is so interesting and compelling that I don’t care that nothing is happening. I just want to learn more about the worked and the characters. We get such an interesting view into the minds of these characters that I just come to adore them so much.

“Just because someone goes away doesn’t mean you stop loving them.”

The first character is Lovelace. She’s an AI that has found herself in an illegal body kit. I thought she was so interesting. Her struggle of not fitting into her body and finding her purpose. I really liked seeing the world through her eyes because she was new and learning and had this insatiable curiosity. She brings a new perspective into the conversation about AI rights and how they qualify at “people.”

“All the things made better for some people. Nobody has ever figured out how to make things better for everybody.

Then there’s Pepper who was honestly fascinating. I feel like I didn’t get to learn enough about her though we followed most of her life. I would have liked to have gotten more insight into the planet she came from and why that planet was the way it was. I didn’t quite understand what was going on with ‘The Enhanced.’ I think maybe it was explained in the previous book, but this was marketed as a stand-alone sequel so I think it should have been better explained. Aside from that, I really was fascinated by Pepper’s childhood and her relationship with Owl. I loved her chapters.

“Life is terrifying. None of us have a rule book. None of us know what we’re doing here. So, the easiest way to stare reality inn the face and not utterly lose your shit is to belive that you have control over it.”

Overall, I will definitively be reading the next book in this series. I cannot wait to get back to the Wayfarer Crew. This is not a book for plot-driven​ readers. This book has little to no plot and I loved every page of it. Get ready for a deep dive into these characters brains. I loved the diversity and acceptance in these books. There is all kinds ofgender-neutral​l pronouns and an emphasis on making sure to use the correct pronoun. There’s such a diverse cast of characters (gender, sexuality, and species) I think this series is doing great things and having all the right conversations.

Keep on reading lovelies, Amanda.

2 thoughts on “A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

  1. Glad you enjoyed! Personally I liked book one way better then book two, but I’m still really excited for the last one!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

Have any thoughts?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s